One more half-marathon

October 25, 2010 at 11:26 PM 1 comment

I am in major training for another half-marathon.  Again!

My crazy sister conned me into my first marathon earlier this year.  Never in a million years did I think I could actually do one but I was shamed into doing it!  When your 70 year-old father is doing it, you kinda don’t have a leg to stand on when you try to refuse.  I had  a lot of issues when I trained.  I was in fair shape when I started training but I had a huge way to go in order to be ready for a 13.1 mile run.  I got shin splints, shooting pains through my hips, and black toenails but I managed.

The day of the race was crazy weird.  I was nervous, excited, and scared.  I realized that I couldn’t try to keep up with any of my 3 sisters or my dad.  This was MY time.  I ran/walked the entire race by myself and I am glad I did.  By doing that, I had a more spiritual experience.  I talked to myself, prayed (hello! how else was I gonna finish this?), and just got lost in my thoughts.  Every mile I completed, I was shocked and proud.  I facebooked every time I completed a mile.  It was incredible.  The adreniline kicked in and I got to the 13 mile marker.  At that point, I sprinted the rest of the way.  It felt so unbelievable crossing that finish line that I broke down crying once I crossed it.

Probably the best part was seeing my boys and my husband, my sisters and especially my mom cheering me on as I crossed. Everyone was there to see me run my first half-marathon.  That is how it should be for ANYONE who runs their first race.  I wanted my boys to see their mom set a goal, work on that goal, and complete that goal.  They did.  I don’t know if they will remember that day and I am not sure how much of a impact it had on them. I wanted them there anyway!

Well, I am about to run my second half-marathon.  It will not (and cannot) be like that first one.  I will have a blast anyway because my husband and I are going to be in a snazzy hotel and the boys are staying with their other grandparents. No matter what happens, I am so glad I was pushed into that first marathon.  It made me feel like there is nothing I can’t do if I set my mind to it.  When  people are impressed that I run half-marathons, I have to laugh and convince them that they can do it too.  Most people don’t believe me but I KNOW I will get at least one person to do it.  They too can have an incredible experience like I did. All thanks to my pushy little sister!

Wish me luck on my race!! It is in a little more than 2 weeks!!

Entry filed under: About Me, Life in General. Tags: , .

I am a little ashamed!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Salsa Queen  |  November 3, 2010 at 1:30 PM

    Great blog – ok, ok – I will do one too 🙂
    I am VERY PROUD of you – AGAIN.
    Best of luck!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Chuck

Leroy

Leroy lounging

Your Hostess

Posts

October 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other subscribers

Archives