Frugality is rather boring!

September 17, 2010 at 1:38 PM 2 comments

I don’t think I am alone in this but right now I am trying to be good and save money.  I am bringing my lunch every day to work.  I am not running to the mall everyday and my trips to Wal-Mart are less frequent too.  All these things are good and I am happy I am doing them.  My savings are increasing and I think I will survive Christmas this year.  The problem is, spending less is kinda boring and it just makes me think about all the things I want that I shouldn’t or can’t buy.  The following is a list of things I have thought about SIMPLY because I can’t have them right now!

  • An iPad – duh!
  • A new slightly smaller car
  • A vacation to a sandy beach
  • New laminate floors in my house
  • A porch attached to the back of the house.
  • New cool boots  ANY cool boots!
  • The new iPhone
  • A new Apple laptop
  • To go to graduate school
  • New living room furniture – NON CREAM colored living room furniture!

Instead of buying those things I am:

  • Not eating out anymore – sniff sniff!!
  • Eating more healthy – yawn.
  • Working out more – at least trying to work out more!
  • Talking to the boys more – very nice.
  • Working more – yuck!
  • Reading more – love it!
  • Blogging more – woo hoo!!
  • Organizing my house – or at least trying to organize my house. It really is impossible.
  • Riding my bike – FUN!!
  • Thinking about everything – too much thinking!

I keep telling myself that by being frugal I will be able to have the following things instead:

  • A monetary cushion – YEAH!
  • A great college fund for the boys.
  • Fantastic retirement savings – hopefully!
  • Peace of mind – kinda!

All this is great but it is boring in some ways. In others ways it is good for our family.  I will keep you posted.  I may need some support to maintain this lifestyle!!

If anyone out there is good at doing this, sharing how you do it would be appreciated!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ADD – A Difficult Dilemma Okay, I was wrong.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  September 20, 2010 at 10:10 AM

    It is hard to spend less but after a while it does get easier – just stay away from Target because then all bets are off!

    Reply
  • 2. stashun  |  September 20, 2010 at 10:15 AM

    Amen! Target is wonderful and EVIL. I try to resist but IT. IS.SO.HARD!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Chuck

Leroy

Your Hostess

Posts

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


