Hey, I should be lazy.

June 21, 2010 at 11:32 PM 3 comments

I guess I fooled myself again.  I got all excited and giddy thinking about the approaching summer season.  Oooh, I could just feel the sweet summer breezes.  Never mind that I live in Texas where the temperature hovers in the high 90’s and low 100’s. Every year I fall for the hype that summer is supposed to be lazy and carefree.  Now that it is here, shouldn’t I be sipping lemonade while swinging in my hammock all afternoon instead of running around in a frenzy?  Well, news flash!  I am not living a carefree summer.  Heck, I don’t even have a hammock.  If I did, it would probably still be in the box because I have no time to put anything together, much less use it.

It seems every summer finds me busier and busier.  When I do get a chance to read a few magazines here and there, I notice that I am most definitely not living the summer everyone else seems to be living!  Apparently, now that I have all this free time, I should be taking up new activities and hobbies.  I should be enjoying the lazy long days while listening to the birds and crickets. From my porch, I should be watching the neighborhood children running and playing.  I should be bringing out water and popsicles when it gets too hot.  After the sun goes down, I should be moseying into the house and making a light dinner with some homemade ice cream for dessert.  Instead, of trying new hobbies, I am lamenting the fact that I cannot enjoy the current hobbies I don’t have to time to enjoy. Instead of listening to birds, I leave for work before the birds get up!  The neighborhood kids do not get water and popsicles from me when it gets hot.  The stay-at-home moms take care of the over-heated children.  No, I do not whip up light dinners or home-made ice cream.  I order take out and pick up a gallon of Blue Bell ice cream at HEB.

Apparently, my job did not get the memo that summer is supposed to be slow and lazy.  Instead it has been busier than ever. The other day my son asked me why I was getting ready for work.  I told him that I have to get ready for work because I have a job..  He was shocked that I had to go to work.  He thought that I, too, got a summer break!  If only….. Why shouldn’t he?  I think I should have the summer off too.  Not every woman is a teacher or a stay-at-home mom regardless what every commercial and magazine would have you believe.

I can envision next summer right now.  I will wear cute sundresses with straw hats.  I will summer in my beach house that I decorated in soft pastels.  I will have a huge collection of cute sandals that would not be appropriate for work.  I will create light summer meals that the family will enjoy on the porch.  We will go to parades down main street while eating watermelon.  We will swim everyday and get golden brown.  We will ride our bicycles through the neighborhood and stop to look at the flowers and the bugs along the way.  We will nap in the afternoon and sleep late in the mornings. I can see it now…..

Of course, this is all dependent on winning the lottery or inheriting a huge amount of money.  I’ll keep you posted!

Entry filed under: About Me, full time working mom, Life in General. Tags: , , .

I love my new camera! I am okay, but am I “good”? Social experiment #1.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  June 22, 2010 at 10:16 AM

    Can I hang out with you next summer? Great post!

    Reply
  • 2. Shay  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:18 PM

    Baha! I’d love to join you!

    Reply
  • 3. stashun  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:51 PM

    Hey, the more the merrier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Chuck

Leroy

Your Hostess

Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


