Can we all just get along?

June 2, 2010 at 5:49 PM 2 comments

Really!  Not a day goes by that I am not shocked about what my boys choose to argue about.   I am not sure if they argue about absolutely ridiculous things because I passed some freaky gene mutation to them or if I am a mom who somehow failed in the way I parented them!  They are too weird to blame it solely on them.

The other day, I had just had it.  This is a PARTIAL list of all they argued about in ONE day:

  • The day starts with Chuck putting his brother in a choke hold because Jesse’s tooth brushing was annoying.
  • Jesse yells at Chuck for ruining his Lego creation.  Mind you, the creation is 3 years old with a layer of dust on it AND was made with Chuck’s Legos!  Jesse says that the artwork belongs to the artist NOT the person who bought the supplies.  Ugh!
  • They argue about who will take a shower first.
  • Chuck screams about how loud Jesse is playing his music while taking a shower.
  • Chuck takes his shower with the music playing even louder and Jesse yells about the TYPE of music Chuck is playing.
  • Jesse cries because Chuck is wearing one of his old shirts.  Never mind that the shirt is WAY too small for him. It is Jesse’s favorite shirt.  He has so many wonderful memories in that shirt and it smells like him.  Now it is going to stink like Chuck!
  • Chuck agues with Jesse about who I love more.  Chuck is sure I love him more. Jesse KNOWS I love him more and he is sad when I diplomatically try to tell them I love both of them equally but differently.
  • The boys fight over what TV show to watch, breakfast to have, game to play, drink to drink, friends to play with, and song to listen to in the car.
  • Jesse comes to me crying because Chuck hit him with a toy.  Chuck says it was an accident. Jesse doesn’t believe Chuck.
  • 20 minutes later, Chuck comes down crying because Jesse hit him with a book.  Jesse says it was an accident. Chuck doesn’t believe Jesse.
  • They go upstairs and begin to scream and argue.  I have no idea what it is about and at this point I don’t care!  I remember a quote somewhere where a mom said she doesn’t want to hear anything from her kids unless someone is bleeding or unconscious.  It makes sense to me now!

 

I know people say boys will be boys but their arguing at the ages of 10 and 7 are driving me bonkers.  When they are 13 and 16, I am pretty sure their arguing will be a little more intense (hormones and all).  I, for one, will probably be bald with a nervous tic by then.  I can already see the glazed-I-have lost-it expression on my face.

These same boys will love and hug on each other.  God forbid if I try to punish one of them based on the tattlings of the other!  As soon as I hand down a sentence the tattler gets upset and wants me to “free” the punished one.  It’s crazy!

I fought constantly with my brothers and sisters so I have a tremendous respect for what my parents endured.  I was the WORST! She must have blocked out those terrible memories because when I mention what my boys do, she just laughs.  Maybe I will look back on this and laugh when my boys complain about their “crazy” children.

Oh, karma…

Entry filed under: About Me, Children, Life in General. Tags: , , .

Another wonderful day in Stacie’s life! I’ve heard of a taste for blood, but chocolate?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  June 3, 2010 at 8:49 AM

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
    • 2. stashun  |  June 3, 2010 at 8:56 AM

      Thanks! I find humor in the madness!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Chuck

Leroy

Your Hostess

Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


