Another wonderful day in Stacie’s life!

May 29, 2010 at 5:20 PM 4 comments

Yesterday was a very hectic morning but it didn’t put a damper on my day!  It started surprisingly normal.  I overslept for the gillionth time.  It a trend I don’t seem to have any power to end.   I woke up and I immediately panicked.  What in God’s name am I going to wear to work?!  Since I have been so busy, I was unable to make my weekly trip to the dry cleaners.  After digging deep into my closet, I  found some hand-me-downs from my OLDER sister.  She is too small for them.  Yes, I know that is messed up.  It should be the other way round.  But right now I am pudgy and she is not.  I find this quirky cool sweaterish thing that I could wear.  It reminds me of the poofy shirt from Seinfeld but I wear it anyway.  I then have to squeeze my plus-sized tush into a normal pair of jeans.  I have the muffin top but the poofy shirt will cover it up enough.  Since ALL my clothes were dirty, I was worried that I may end looking like I shop at Goodwill (not that there is anything wrong with that) but I am surprisingly happy with my ensemble.  I headed out to work silently wishing we will be allowed to leave early.  Not only do I wish we will be able to leave early, I begin to PLAN to leave early (this turns out to be a mistake)!

I run out to my car and, of course, my car was on empty. Argh! No!  I decide I am “going for it” and I will not waste time and stop for gas.  It is a Friday before a holiday so I know I will just breeze on into work.  WRONG!  I am driving along I reach the highway.  I mean the parking lot.  Nothing was moving at all!  The freeway was closed!  There was some fuel spill.  We are just not moving.  I have a mini breakdown.  I should have stopped for gas.

I gather my composure and I decide that this will not dictate the mood of the day.  Hey,  I figure deluding myself that the bad day will get better is far more healthy than the alternative!.  I rig up my iPhone to play my music and I am rocking while I inch down the freeway.  It helps my mood until I realized I forgot my medicine at home.  I had an absolutely crazy urge to turn around and go back home to get it.  I say crazy because it has taken me an hour to go 1 mile.  It would have been idiotic to turn around.  So,  I don’t.

I begin to worry that I am going to run out of gas on the freeway.  That would be so perfect.  I decide not to worry. and I allow my mind to wander.  what else is there to do?  Suddenly, I remember the bizarre dream I had last night.  I dreamed about one of the guys I work with at Megacorp.  I dreamt that he was doing yoga in my backyard while either drunk or under the influence of something.  His bald head was sunburnt and he was giggly.  He was wearing a yellow outfit with white tennis shoes. Just so you know, he is probably 6’4″ so it was a sight!  I laughed at how freakin’ weird my dreams are sometimes.  I silently hope I don’t get the giggles when I see him at work.

After I get cut off and honked at a million times, I reach my destination.  Work!

Holiday weekend means there is very few people around.  BONUS.  I find out we are not going to get off early.  BUMMER!  I get some work done, chat with a few people and contemplate my early exit.  (As you know, I started planning my early release hours before).  I have  a great lunch with Shay and a new arrival to my blog, Jane.  We all talked about our planned early release.  The glaring difference is they got permission to leave early – I just decided I need to leave early. Lunch ends and I get some more work done.  Then, as if the work gods are punishing me for trying to defy them by leaving early, all of sudden everyone needs something from me! I frantically work and before I know it, it is time for me to leave. That really bummed me out!  I leave and begin my wonderful holiday weekend by having a great dinner with Monica.  It was fantastic.  I go home, read, and sleep like a baby.

I hope all of you have a fantastic weekend too!

Entry filed under: full time working mom, Work.

Passive Aggressive Anyone? Can we all just get along?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chrissy  |  May 30, 2010 at 2:41 PM

    Sounds like Bliss!

    Reply
    • 2. stashun  |  May 30, 2010 at 3:29 PM

      Bliss it is my girl!!

      Reply
  • 3. Paula  |  June 3, 2010 at 8:50 AM

    I love your blog!

    Reply
  • 4. stashun  |  June 3, 2010 at 8:57 AM

    Thank you girl! I love writing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Chuck

Leroy

Your Hostess

Posts

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


