Passive Aggressive Anyone?

May 26, 2010 at 2:19 PM 4 comments

I am not going to pretend that I am not ever Passive Aggressive.  Heck, at certain times in my life, I could probably have passed as a master manipulator.  As I grow older though, I have less use for PA activity from myself as well as from others.  Having said that, I am beginning to believe that everyone else is just getting the hang of this technique!  It is hitting me over the head everywhere I look.

I see it in action from the grocery clerk who rings up my purchases and fails to give me my change.  When I ask her about it, she gets in trouble and blames me for ALL her misfortune in life.  I’m good but, honestly, I am not responsible for Tony leaving her and her two babies.

I love the co-worker who coaxed you into doing a presentation for her since she is so shy and then gives you false information or leaves out vital information.  You are up there doing your thing and then realize that you have been set up.  You have to answer questions from your audience and you seem inept!  The same co-worker feeds the fire and makes you look even worse.  Joy!

I love when I am leaving my house and I feel GOOD.  I am looking mighty fine!  I have lost a few pounds, I am wearing some killer shoes – life is good.  For a change, I’m feeling young and giddy. I jump into my car and I go to a girl’s night out!  I meet my not so giddy “friends”.  Instead of making me feel even better, they ask loudly in front of the entire restaurant, “How do you walk in those heels?”  Or “Wow, you have lost weight!  It is a shame it makes your face look older” or when you order a salad they say “Is that all you are going to eat!?  I come to eat and get my money’s worth – not pay $10 for a piddley salad.” All this from my friends!  Who needs enemies?

I have one even better.  Who can forget the PTA mom who has never seemed to like you or your child suddenly invites you to a party at her house?  It is supposed to be a little CASUAL get together and as you walk into her home you realize it might as well be the freaking prom since everyone is dressed in evening attire!  You half expect someone to mistake you for the “help” and ask you to refill their drink or go unclog the upstairs toilet!

Finally, my all time favorite!  The barbarian who happens to be married to your sister can’t let your son get a moment to shine.  In his pea brain, by letting any other child look talented, his child, Bruno, will suddenly look like he is one step away from being a bum on the street. Sooo….When your mom announces that your son, Jesse, has once again made straight A’s in school, Neanderthal feels a need to remind everyone that that same boy still wets the bed.  Very mature!

I know deep down passive aggressive behavior is a power trip for those that are angry, unhappy, and downright powerless (at least in their eyes).  I know all this theoretically but when I am around it, all that understanding falls away and I want to go for the proverbial jugular!

  • I want to tell the cashier that Tony probably left her because she is PA and mean.
  • I want to tell my co-worker she needs to attend an “Up with People” retreat.
  • I want to tell my “friends”

                “I walk in the F*** me heels by putting one fine foot in front of the other.”

                “I would rather be skinny and old looking than rude and you.”

                 And…”Yes, I am going to eat this BAD-ASS $10 salad. Wanna watch?”

  • I want to tell the PTA mom that I just came by her stuffy party to tell her I got a better offer – a barbeque for the “Friends of the Library” club.
  • Finally, I want to tell my “missing link” brother-in-law that he is just EVILE and leave it at that.

 

Of course I would never do that because I am not one to be passive aggressive BUT it is extremely tempting…..

Entry filed under: About Me, Life in General. Tags: , , .

Geeze! Are we done yet? Part 2. Another wonderful day in Stacie’s life!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shay  |  May 26, 2010 at 2:36 PM

    Love it! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Chrissy  |  May 27, 2010 at 10:22 PM

    I don’t find your answers PA. I find them totally appropriate, justified, honest and brought on by the p-wrinkles that started it. You must always stand-up for your self or you will always be passively angry.

    Reply
    • 3. stashun  |  May 28, 2010 at 9:11 AM

      Amen sisiter!

      Reply
      • 4. stashun  |  May 28, 2010 at 12:56 PM

        Oh sister! Just FYI, the Brother-in-law is not any of my real BIL. It is based on one of my friends BIL!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Chuck

Leroy

Your Hostess

Posts

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


