He knows what is good for him!

May 10, 2010 at 5:55 PM 2 comments

Let me preface this by saying I had an incredible Mother’s Day.  I have a phenomenal husband and he took very good care of me.  Having said that, it got me thinking about how different my experience may be compared to others.

Case in point, I have a friend who has a beautiful 6-year-old boy.  This Mother’s Day she received NADA.  Of course her child is far too young to go out and buy her a gift, but Mr. Friend was perfectly capable of going out and getting a gift.

His response to that logic is, “Hell no!  She isn’t my momma!”  In a word, that is just pathetic. When I first heard this, I was shocked.  Apparently, those words have been said many times by many men.  Heck, my mother-in-law even said the same thing to me many years ago after my hubby hadn’t given me a gift.  I looked at her like she was completely bonkers because, of course, she was at that moment.  She has since been schooled on the matter.  Yes, I was the teacher.  Let’s just say that conversation will not happen again.

I’m curious.  I want to know when it became acceptable to be so dismissive of those that bore your children when it comes to Mother’s Day.  Even if every child I have showers me with gifts, I fully expect my man to acknowledge my role as the mother of his children also. Hello!  Childbirth is dangerous and usually extremely painful. Come to think of it, raising children is also dangerous and extremely painful.

Yes, all things considered, I believe ANY mother deserves something special on Mother’s Day.  Jewelry is optional, but if guys would get a clue they would realize that exercising this jewelry option will almost gauaran – dang – tee massive rewards for him.

No, I had a great Mother’s Day because my husband is wise and he shows me how much he appreciates me.  He knows what is good for him!

Entry filed under: About Me. Tags: , , .

I realized I have 13 years left. I miss my food!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  May 11, 2010 at 12:45 PM

    you are so lucky – but you deserve that luck too..

    Reply
  • 2. Chrissy  |  May 11, 2010 at 5:32 PM

    You are very lucky!! My 5 year old is the ONLY one who gave me anything. A beautiful picture in a frame he painted himself at school. My husband, my 19 year old (that I support still), and my 13 year old, nada. When Father’s day and Birthday’s come around, I may be MIA.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Ready for duty

Chuck

Little dental work

Leroy

Leroy lounging

Your Hostess

Posts

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


