I realized I have 13 years left.

May 4, 2010 at 11:44 PM Leave a comment

I was talking to some of my co-workers today and the subject of retirement came up.  At that time, I realized I don’t really think about retirement much at all except the occasional wish that I was already retired!  I am still relatively young but I suppose  I should think about it more often.  Sure, I contribute to my 401K and all that other stuff, but I just don’t like to think about it.  The reason I don’t is because, frankly, it depresses me. Why does it depress me? Because the big day is still very far away.  I realized I have 13 years left!

Let me explain something.  I am in the wrong job.  Not only am I in the wrong job; I have been in the wrong job for 13 years! I love many things about my job but I detest many things too.  I have amazing benefits and I work with some incredible people.  The perks are fantastic and we have complete job security, yet it is not enough.

What is my problem?  Why can’t I accept the good and let go of the bad?  I suppose it is because I had a dream for myself and I am so far from that dream, it is hard for me to cope.  I am not like an artist who has to settle for teaching art instead of doing art full-time.  I am not the person who dreamed of being a doctor and had to settle being a dentist or a nurse.  I am the person who dreamed of being a psychologist who ended up being an administrative assistant.  I am proud of the job I do and I have respect for the job and anyone who does it. I am just not an admin. at heart.

So, I have 13 years left.  On the road to retirement, I am halfway there.  Can I do it? Can I manage to keep it together long enough to receive my pension?  I don’t know.  I just don’t know.

Entry filed under: About Me, Work. Tags: , , .

He knows what is good for him!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Ready for duty

Chuck

Little dental work

Leroy

Leroy lounging

Your Hostess

Posts

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


