So, you are ready to start dating?

April 23, 2010 at 2:50 PM 1 comment

I have two wonderful people in my life who think they are ready to date.  They asked my advice and it has made me really think about dating.  I, for one, am NOT ready to date.  My husband is sure to like that news!  No, I am out of the dating pool forever.  But talking about dating is funny when you haven’t done it in many years.

One person, Monica,  is newly divorced and I really think she is ready to jump out there and have a little fun.  She had been with her ex for so long;  she is worried she is possibly out of practice.  Having said that, I think she would be a GREAT date.  I know the guys who get to hang with her will really have a fantastic time.  Who cares if it leads to something huge? I know dating gets a bad rap, but it should be fun.  If it isn’t, what’s the point?  It isn’t hard for me to nudge her and tell her to “Go for It!”  Go on a few dates!

On the other hand, it is hard to tell someone that they are not ready. When you are related to this person; it is even harder.  How do you tell someone you love that there is no way in hell they should think about dating right now! He is sweet, cute, and very kind but there is no way I am going to encourage him to “go for it”.  He has thought that he was ready for a while.  It is getting harder and harder to discourage him.  To him, it doesn’t matter that the girls he knows are rude, and immature.  He still wants to go to a movie and wine and dine them.  It doesn’t matter that he doesn’t have a job or any money.  He thinks he is a stud that has a lot to offer.  I can’t argue with some of this.  He does have a lot to offer and the girl who finally does get to go out with him will be treated well. He will be a great date and a fantastic boyfriend.  There is only one problem.  This wanna-be dater is my 9-year old son, Jesse!

Yes, I am not ashamed to admit it.  My 9 year-old wants to date and he has wanted to date since he was 5!  Needless to say, I will discourage him from dipping his foot in the dating pool.  I WILL encourage my friend to go out there and have a blast!  As a word of advice, I will tell her to lock up her 8-year-old daughter. My Jesse is single and ready to mingle!

Update:  Monica is happily dating and Jesse is happily NOT!

Entry filed under: Life in General. Tags: , , .

A new diet, a new life?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  April 25, 2010 at 5:01 PM

    I love your blog – you rock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diet Coke Counter

I drank 0 diet cokes today! :(

Jesse

Chuck

Leroy

Your Hostess

Posts

April 2010
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Archives


